Music and the Gospel: “Rise Up,” Andra day

A blind beggar shouts out his faith Jesus can give him sight.  This week’s SPIRIT explores a football player handles a bullet putting him in a wheelchair. Hard things at school, at work, or at home can put most of us in a funk of hopelessness but not Bobbie Brown, who finds new ways to  move forward, take part, and inspire others. Andra Day’s song “Rise Up” is about recognizing that we are all brothers and sisters, and that we are all in this world together. Rising up can be as simple as forgiving someone who has hurt us, keeping faith when we wonder why life is so hard, or pushing for positive change when we notice injustice.
 
Lyrics: And I’ll rise up / I’ll rise like the day / I’ll rise up / I’ll rise unafraid / I’ll rise up / And I’ll do it a thousand times again / And I’ll rise up / High like the waves / I’ll rise up / In spite of the ache / I’ll rise up / And I’ll do it a thousand times again / For you

Questions: Think about a time when you experienced a challenging/traumatic event. What feelings did this event evoke?  How did faith help you contend with what happened and find resilience in this difficult time? What are some ways you can share your experience and spread what you learned?

Leave a comment